About us

Open Gardens Canberra is a not-for-profit community association run by a committee of volunteers. Our mission is to open gardens in the Canberra region for viewing by members and the public; to encourage sustainable garden practices; and to support community projects and charities.

Open Gardens Canberra was formed to continue the tradition of private open gardens established by Open Gardens Australia. It was established in May 2015 as an incorporated not-for-profit organisation. Since then an exciting and diverse range of gardens have been opened to the public.


Members are welcome to attend Committee meetings; if you are interested in attending one please contact the Secretary.

The  2023 Annual General Meeting of Open Gardens Canberra Incorporated was held on 27 November 2023. We are very pleased to have filled all positions. Minutes from AGMs are available on request.

There is still an opportunity to contribute by becoming a volunteer at openings, or by taking on roles such as garden selection, publicity coordination, newsletter editing, website editing, social media,  etc. which can be performed by non-committee members. Information on the roles of OGC committee members is available here.

The Rules of the association are available here.


Office bearer

Email Address


Len Dowling

Vice-President and Public Officer

Ian Davenport


Martin Wright


Maureen Davenport

Other Committee Members

Tom Baker

Kym Holden

Lynne Bliss

Deirdre Kiorgaard

Pam Coronel

Margaret Murphy

Libby Hewson

Helen Trevean

Liesa Hindmarsh

For general enquiries, including booking, publicity and website enquiries, please contact us at [email protected].

Download colour vertical version of our logo

Download colour horizontal version of our logo